Frugal Friday: Slow-Cooker Meat Lover’s Chili

It was around 100 degrees outside yesterday… and I made chili for dinner. Who says chili is only for cold weather? I love chili almost any time of year. But can I tell you a secret? I don’t love beans in chili. I know that some people do, but it’s just not my favorite. However, we live on a pretty tight budget around here, so I found it vital to come up with a beanless chili recipe that didn’t break the bank… even though it’s a cheaper cut, quality grass-fed ground beef is expensive! The ingredients in this chili may surprise you, but trust me, you won’t be disappointed by the flavor and it is packed with nourishment! To top it all off, this recipe is one you can throw in the slow cooker, so it’s very simple to make and not very time consuming. *ding, ding, ding!* We have a winner!

So, what is this surprising ingredient? Beef liver! Now, before you “x” out of this page in disgust, please know that I am not a lover of the flavor or texture of liver. However, in this recipe the bold flavors of the tomatoes, chiles & spices completely mask the flavor of the liver while still giving you the nutritional value and making your wallet smile. Beef liver is not only a super-food powerhouse, but also very economical to purchase. I am all about combining nutrition, good taste & smiling wallets, aren’t you?

This is seriously my favorite chili recipe now. I don’t know if I will ever make another chili recipe again! Hubby also loved this chili & had no idea that there was liver hidden in it.

(Photo to come soon… I forgot to take one yesterday)

 

Frugal Slow-Cooker Meat Lover’s Chili
(Paleo, Gluten/Grain Free, Dairy Free, No Beans)

Ingredients
1.5 lbs uncooked ground beef (I use frozen)
1 lb uncooked beef liver (I use frozen)
1 28oz can diced tomatoes (preferably BPA free)
1 7oz can green chiles
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2-1 large onion, chopped (depending on how much you like onion)
1 cup of chicken broth (homemade is best)
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp dried oregano
2-3 tsp cumin
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp sea salt

Instructions
1. Place ground beef and beef liver into your crockpot, on opposite sides. Set slow cooker on high for 3-4 hours. If you are using already cooked ground beef and beef liver, you can skip this step.
2. After 3-4 hours, carefully spoon the beef liver out of the crockpot and into your food processor. Puree well.
3. Add the beef liver back into the crockpot along with the rest of the ingredients in this order: onions, garlic, tomatoes, chiles, spices & chicken broth.
4. Give a light stir (you want to mix it a little while keeping the meat and onions near the bottom of the cooker), cover & set on high for another 2-3 hours.
5. Serve as is or optionally with rice, avocado, cheese, organic corn, etc. as meet your dietary needs… and you could even serve over cooked beans if you have bean chili lovers in your family! If you are grain free and/or paleo, you could serve over cauliflower “rice” or zoodles (zucchini noodles). Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

Simple, frugal, and oh, so yummy!

Tell me in the comments: Do you prefer your chili with or without beans? What other ingredients do you love in your chili?

2 thoughts on “Frugal Friday: Slow-Cooker Meat Lover’s Chili

Leave a comment